No results at this time.

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Current Points

No points at this time.


Three-Way Tie for Points Lead as Hinson Wins at Lancaster

Three-Way Tie for Points Lead as Hinson Wins at Lancaster

ADAIRSVILLE, Ga. — The 2021 version of the Crate Racin’ USA Thunder Bomber Shootout Series is now two races into its 12-event season, and while it might be a little early to start seriously counting points toward the touring circuit’s overall championship, it’s already a tight battle for the crown with a three-way tie atop the standings.

Jonathan Hinson of Lancaster, S.C., is the latest winner on the series after his victory March 13 at Lancaster Motor Speedway, and he joined Hank Taylor and Mattison Hoots as one of three drivers currently tied for the series points lead through the first two events of the season.

All three drivers have tallied 97 points, while Luke Doggett (89) and Dylan Montgomery (75) round out the top five in the current standings.
Blake Bentley, who won the series opener Feb. 27 at Carolina Speedway in Gastonia, N.C., led the points standings entering the event at Lancaster, but he was a no-show in the starting field at the $1,000-to-win event held as part of the annual Red Rose Rumble at the half-mile oval.

2021 Thunder Bomber Shootout Series (current points)
(tied) Jonathan Hinson, Mattison Hoots and Hank Taylor, 97 points; 4. Luke Doggett, 89; 5. Dylan Montgomery, 75; 6. Preston Dimsdale, 64; 7. Seth Outlaw, 54; 8. Blake Bentley, 50; 9. Travis Mosley, 47; 10. Casey Lawson, 46.

Hinson Aims for Stock Car Success
Hinson, who has raced go-karts for years and still does compete in those lightning-quick machines on a regular basis, moved to full-bodied stock cars last year and reeled off an impressive first season in both the Thunder Bomber and Lightning Late Model divisions that produced 13 wins and six second-place finishes in 30 starts.

“It was my first full year in stock car racing after moving up from go-karts,” Hinson said. “We’re still racing go-karts frequently so we stay pretty busy, but we like this Thunder Bomber division a lot and it’s become a pretty big class here in the Carolinas. I won the track championship last year in that division at Carolina Speedway [Gastonia, N.C.], and it’s growing steadily across the whole region. It’s fun, and I think we’re gonna see a lot more cars in the future. It’s pretty normal to have 20-25 cars at these races.”

Victorious at Lancaster
Hinson was the fastest qualifier at Lancaster, but started third after a prerace redraw for starting positions among the top four qualifiers. He quickly moved to second spot, and engaged fellow go-kart enthusiast Hank Taylor in a battle for the lead.

It didn’t take long for Hinson to scrape past Taylor for the point, taking an early lead he would never relinquish and charging to the checkered flag over Taylor, Mattison Hoots, Travis Mosley and Jimbo Baker.

“I drove the car hard into turn one, and got in there on him [Parker],” Hinson said. “We beat and banged a little bit through turn two and I leaned on him a little, but me and Hank grew up racing go-karts together, and that was just some typical, good racing between us. We’ve had a hot rod with this car the past two or three weekends, and we’re getting it dialed in little by little every time we run it.”

Hinson, who experienced carburetor difficulties in the season opener at Carolina Speedway, suffered no troubles during his run to the checkered flag at his hometown facility, and considering he’s part of a three-way tie atop the points standings, he plans to continue his quest for the title.
“We’re probably gonna run the whole deal and try to win the championship,” he said. “A lot can happen, but we’re going to give it a shot.”

Red Rose Rumble: 1. Jonathan Hinson, 2. Hank Taylor, 3. Mattison Hoots, 4. Travis Mosley, 5. Jimbo Baker, 6. Luke Doggett, 7. Isaiah Parker, 8. Matthew Wilkins, 9. James Kirk, 10. Jarrett Hawkins, 11. Robert Bennett, 12. Isaac Thomas, 13. Mike Slone, 14. Matthew Luck, 15. Dylan Montgomery, 16. Shane Vaughn, 17. Jeremy Morgan, 18. Preston Dimsdale, 19. Seth Outlaw, 20. Hunter Funderburke.

Article Credit: Brian McLeod

Newsome Raceway Parts Network

Email Newsletter

Willy's Carburetor & Dyno Shop
Knowles Race Parts & Bodies
KRC Power Steering
Cruise With The Champions
Advanced Lasers